Thursday, September 12, 2013

DoD Future Vertical Lift Initiative [FVL]

Not so long ago I was contacted by Mike Burns, Col. AV, a coordination officer for the Department of Defense Future Vertical lift Initiative. In a nutshell, it is an effort to assess, design, develop and field the next generation of vertical lift aircraft for the U.S. Department of Defense (basically the family of aircraft that will replace current helicopters). Mike developed a logo he would like me to work a bit of magic on. The wings are in the position they are to represent vertical flight. The purpose of the five-colored triangles is to represent the five services that are participating in the Joint program. Green for Army, Red for Marines. The three different blues represent Navy, Air Force, and Coast Guard. Purple is the Department of Defense color for Joint Multi-Service. The black on the broad arrowhead is meant to represent Special Operations and also symbolizes the aggressive/attack side of vertical lift aviation.
The result of this effort can be seen below.

No comments:

Post a Comment